The Alps are generally divided into the Western Alps and the Eastern Alps. The division is along the line between Lake Constance and Lake Como, following the rivers Rhine, Liro and Mera. The Western Alps are higher, but the central chain is shorter and curved; It is located in Italy, France and Switzerland. The Eastern Alps (main ridge system elongated and broad) belong to Italy, Austria, Switzerland, Germany, Liechtenstein and Slovenia.

The highest peak of the Western Alps is Mont Blanc, at 4,810.45 metres (15,782 ft). The highest peak of the Eastern Alps is Piz Bernina at 4,049 metres (13,284 ft). Monte Rosa at 4,634 metres (15,203 ft). and Ortler, 3,905 metres (12,812 ft), are the second-highest, respectively.


250 York Road, London
SW11 3SJ, United Kingdom
Tel: +44 (0)20 8123 2978
Fax: +44 (0)20 7905 0921

Follow Us


Pay Online

glqxz9283 sfy39587p07